30th Street Station, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Union Station, Washington, D.C.

Penn Station, New York, New York

Union Station, New Haven, Connecticut

Union Station, Washington, D.C.

Penn Station, Baltimore, Maryland

South Station, Boston, Massachussetts

What’s New

Northeast Corridor Commuter and Intercity Rail Cost Allocation Policy (10/02/2015)

The Commission has adopted this historic framework for collaboration and cost-sharing among the Corridor’s owners and operators. The development and implementation of this policy fulfills an important statutory requirement set forth in Section 212 of the Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act of 2008 (Pub. L. 110-432).

Information Sheet (PDF) |Transmittal Letter to the U.S. House of Representatives (PDF) | Transmittal Letter to the U.S. Senate (PDF) | Read More »

report_cover Northeast Corridor Intercity Travel Study (09/15/2015)

The NEC Intercity Travel Study examines intercity automobile and bus travel around the NEC to understand long-distance travel patterns in the region. This summary report describes estimates of mode split for major submarket pairs as well as information on trip purpose and why travelers chose a particular mode.

Download: Study Report (PDF)

Field Hearing: “Passenger Rail Reauthorization: The Future of the Northeast Corridor” Newark, NJ (05/04/2015)

Testimony of James Redeker, Commissioner of Connecticut Department of Transportation & Chair of the NEC Commission, before the U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety, and Security.

report_cover NEC Five-Year Capital Plan FY 2016-2020 (04/16/2015)

The NEC Five-Year Capital Plan integrates capital programs and priorities among its four infrastructure owners, nine passenger rail operators, and government agencies throughout the Northeast. The Plan is a united strategy to reverse decades of deterioration and rebuild the nation’s busiest passenger railroad.

Explore the Plan and Interactive Map
Download: Plan Report (PDF) | Executive Summary (PDF)

About the NEC Commission

The Northeast Corridor

The Northeast Corridor (NEC) is the rail backbone of the Northeast region and the busiest passenger rail corridor in the United Sates. It connects eight states and the District of Columbia and each day serves 750,000 riders and 2,000 commuter, intercity, and freight trains. | Learn More » NEC Overview

Partnership for the Northeast Corridor

The Corridor’s partners are committed to modernizing the Northeast Corridor (NEC) rail network. Because the rail system serves multiple states and crosses many jurisdictions, federal, state, and local governments in the region and rail service providers must join together to successfully develop and implement an effective modernization program. The Commission was chartered to facilitate collaborative planning and unified action.

In the Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act of 2008, Congress recognized the need to improve coordination on the Corridor and amended Section 24905 to direct the Secretary of Transportation to establish the NEC Commission to promote mutual cooperation and planning and to advise Congress on Corridor policy. The Commission is composed of one member from each of the NEC states (Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Maryland) and the District of Columbia; four members from Amtrak; and five members from the U.S. Department of Transportation. The Commission also includes non-voting representatives from NEC freight railroads, states with feeder corridors that connect to the NEC, and commuter authorities not directly represented by a Commission member.

The Commission provides coordinated regional leadership to focus on near-term strategies to stabilize the NEC and establish a foundation for future growth.  | Learn More » Commission Members